07 Feb: Kinloss Stages – Preview

The Kinloss Stages Rally will take to the routeways around Kinloss Army  Barracks this Saturday the 12th of February but unfortunately due to the nature of the site, this will be a NON-SPECTATOR event.

Unfortunately my Big Pal will be unable to attend this event in person so there will be no detailed after-rally report – unless some of those competing or attending cares to provide a few notes!!

However this event will be interesting for two reasons. It’s the first time that this venue will have been used for a special stage motor rally and it marks the first round of the new ‘Back to Roots Tarmack Championship’. Checkout their Facebook page or the Condor Motor Sports web site for more info.

The BRTC is trying to spread its events evenly throughout the year to minimise the impact on any one wage packet. It is also intended that each event in the Championship will try to keep their entry fee below £300 whilst registration for the Championship is just £10 for the year.

Vehicle spec has been kept as minimal as possible so that there is a chance of winning a class or even the Championship in a car that does not have the advantages of some of the higher spec cars.  Events will be spread across Scotland and the North of England to ensure the calendar has a wide variety of different venues and also so the Championship does not ask for more commitment from volunteers and officials just from Scotland. 

There is one event, Leconfield, that almost qualifies for a ‘closed road rally’ contained in a single venue environment and another that gives 60 stage miles for the entry fee at Milltown. Add to that this new venue at Kinloss and Condor which is still undergoing improvement plus other rounds to be confirmed. 

The Championship will be non-profit making so therefore, the sponsors have generously given prizes for competitors ranging from discounts on rallying essentials to prizes of brakes.

In the future, the aim is to increase the number of venues on the list whilst keeping the yearly number of events to 7 or 8 so that events can be rotated to provide variety year on year.  All events on the calendar will have been competed at by an official prior to inclusion in order to ensure they offer value for money in the spirit of the Championship.

As for this Saturday, the Kinloss Stages will feature 6 Special Stages totalling some 52 miles of competitive running with the first car away at 08.30 Hrs and subsequent cars running at 30 second intervals.

The organisers have also added the cautionary note that anyone wanting to cycle or walk the route must do so on Friday – as there won’t have sufficient time to go round a whole stage on Saturday morning, because it’s so long!

Needless to say no unauthorised persons will be allowed on site on the day of the rally with both service vehicles and crews restricted in size. Family  members  will  only  be  allowed  if  included in the  total  number of additional persons. The service area will be fenced off and  access will be restricted in relation to access/egress the venue for the duration of the event.  Organisers will, whenever possible, facilitate egress from the site during the event.

Finally photography (unless  by  a  signed  on  media  representative), in car video and drone usage are all prohibited due to the event  being held on an active military base. Anyone found to be contravening this (and the competitors they are with) will be DISQUALIFIED.

Although more entries would have been appreciated, the quality is there with Alistair Inglis and Barry Groundwater leading off the field while the rest of the top fifteen look quite handy.

Kinloss Stages Rally 2022

No , Driver , Co-Driver , Make , Model , CC , Class

Entry List

1 Alistair Inglis/Colin Inglis (Ford Fiesta Rally 2) 1600 , 2001 4wd

2 Barry Groundwater/Michael Hendry (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo6) 1998 , 2001 4wd

3 Scott Mutch/Greg McDonald (Subaru GC8) 2000 , 2001 4wd

4 Steven Ronaldson/Ann-Marie Fraser (METRO 6R4) 3000 , 2001 4wd

5 Keith Robathan/Ian Nicoll (Ford Escort Mk2) 2300 , 2001 2wd

6 Hugh Brunton/TBC (Ford Fiesta R5) 1598 , 2001 4wd

7 Andy Horne/Karen Horne Darrian T90) 2500 , 2001 2wd

8 Richard Sutherland/Jack Sutherland (Opel Manta) 1998 , 1601

9 Michael Renton/John Shepheard (Subaru Impreza GC8) 1990 , 2001 4wd

10 Kris Tennant/TBC (Subaru Impreza) 2000 , 2001 4wd

11 Michael Glendinning/Charley Sayer Payne (Subaru Impreza) 1998 , 1601

12 Brett McKenzie/James Ralph (Subaru Impreza) 2000 , 2001 4wd

13 Richard Wheeler/Mark Runciman (Ford Historic Escort RS) 1999 , 1601

14 Brian Watson/Sean Donnelly (Ford Escort Mk2) 1998 , 1601

15 Mike Grant/Graham Kelman (Subaru Impreza) 2000 , 2001 4wd

16 Darren McDonald/Sarah Young (Subaru Impreza) 1996 , 2001 4wd

17 Andy Chalmers/Martin MacCabe (Subaru Impreza) 1994 , 2001 4wd

18 Graham Mutch/John Robertson McDonald (Subaru GC8) 2000 , 2001 4wd

19 Johnnie Mackay/Sandy Mitchell (Ford Fiesta ST) 1996 , 1601

20 Kevin Crawford/Andrew Stevenson (Ford Escort Mk2) 1600 , 1401

21 Gordon Chalmers/Steven Chalmers (Subaru Impreza) 2000 , 2001 4wd

22 John O’Kane/Meghan O’Kane (Subaru Impreza) 2000 , 2001 4wd

23 Sandy Arbuthnott/Ian Arbuthnott (Ford Focus 2000) 2001 4wd

24 Alister Watson/Ian Murray (Ford Escort Mk2) 1998 , 1601

25 Ian Cruden/Douglas MacIntyre (Honda Civic) 2000 , 1601

26 Bobby MacDonald/Ross Callander (Subaru Impreza) 1999 , 2001 4wd

27 Barry Hogg/Andrew Skinner (Honda Civic Type R) 1998 , 1601

28 Peter Beaton/Dean Ross (Honda Civic) 1600 , 1401

29 Myles Gleave/Phil Martin (Peugeot 205) 1905 , 1601

30 Robert Tonge/James Hudson (MG ZR) 1396 , 0-1400

31 Kevin Jeffray/Iain McLeod (Toyota Corolla T Sport) 1780 , 1601

32 Neil Philip/Ian Philip (Subaru Impreza 2000) 2001 4wd

33 Nikki Addison/Rachel Matheson (Peugeot 106) 1600 , 1401

34 Brian (Beefy) Fraser/Iain Thorburn (Hillman Avenger) 1600 , Hist

35 Calum MacDonald/Michael Moates (Ford Focus ST170) 1988 , 1601

36 Ben MacDowall/Alison Horne (BMW 130i 2996) 2001 2wd

37 Robert Proudlock/Steven Brown (Vauxhall Adam) 1600 , 1401