20 Feb: Grant Stages Rally preview

… Grant Construction Rally, Sunday 24th Feb …

Winner of this event last year, John Marshall heads the entry list for this Sunday’s Grant Construction Rally at Knockhill, the opening round of this year’s The Cobble Shop Scottish TarmackRally Championship. Last year John had to fight for victory all the way from first to final stage and looking at who’s lined up behind him this year we can expect more of the same.

Running at number 2 is Donnie MacDonald who finished 4th overall last year, but reckoned that was his own fault. “I was too slow on the ice on the first stage,” said Donnie, “and I dropped half a minute to the boys in front. That was just too much to make up.”

Star of the show last year was James Gibb who finished 5th in his Lancer and might well have finished further up the leaderboard had he not spent so much time going sideways playing to the gallery! Also in the Lancer ranks is the returning Scott MacBeth who is expected to be a wee bit rusty after taking time out last year to get married.

John Rintoul returns in the Fiesta while Escort mounted are Andrew Kirkaldy, Iain Wilson, Tom Blackwood, Colin Gemmell, Chris McCallum, Robert Marshall and Willie Paterson and that should provide a recipe for some frenetic fun.

And there’s more. It’s about as welcome a sight as a large dorsal fun in a public swimming pool, but if it’s icy slippy, or wet slippy, then the Peugeot 205 of Ross Hunter could well be in the podium mix. All Ross has to do is keep it one piece.

Angus Lawrie will debut his new Citroen C2 and he will be joined in the 1600 class by ‘Dangerous’ Des Campbell in his 206 and some-time Knockhill instructor Steven Hay in his Nova, and these guys aren’t shy about mixing it with the big cars. Further down the entry list than you might expect are Ross McCallum and Kyle Adam, but if it is icy on Sunday then they might well benefit from their starting positions.

There will be 8 Special Stages on Sunday totalling some 37 miles with the first car away at 08.31 Hrs and it should all be over by half four on Sunday afternoon. Just in time to catch the evening service in the Kirk, on the way home!

Ticket Prices here:
Entry List
1, John Marshall/Scott Crawford (Subaru Impreza) 2000, Class 5
2, Donnie MacDonald/Sam Smith (Mitsubishi Evo9) 2000, Class 5
3, Andrew Kirkaldy/Peter Carstairs (Ford Escort Mk2) 2500, Class 4
4, James Gibb/Charley Sayer-Payne (Mitsubishi Evo) 1998, 5
5, John Rintoul/Tom Hynd (Ford Fiesta) 2000, Class 5
6, Scott MacBeth/Dan Forsyth (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) 1998, Class 5
7, Iain Wilson/Keith Riddick (Ford Escort) 2100, Class 4
8, Tom Blackwood/Gordon Winning (Ford Escort Mk2) 2499, Class 4
9, Colin Gemmell/Derek Keir (Ford Escort Mk2) 2500, Class 4
10, Robert Marshall/Lewis MacDougall (Ford Escort) 2500, Class 4
11, Willie Paterson/Euan O’Neill (Ford Escort Mk2) 2500, Class 4
12, Nick Stamper/Adrian Lloyd (Subaru Impreza) 1998, Class 5
14, Chris McCallum/Stephen Clark (Ford Escort Mk2) 1998, Class 3
15, Ross Hunter/Becy Morrison (Peugeot 205) 1997, Class 3
16, Des Campbell/Craig Forsyth (Peugeot 206) 1600, Class 2
17, Angus Lawrie/Paul Gribben (Citroen C2 R2) 2, Class 2
18, Steven Hay/Steven Brown (Vauxhall Corsa) 1598, Class 2
19, Robert Thomson/Kyle Mackintosh (Mitsubishi Evo8) 2000, Class 5
20, Grum Willcock/Donna Harper (Opel Manta) 1998, Class 3
21, Ross McCallum/James Ralph (MG Maestro) 1998, Class 3
22, Ross McFadzean/Richard Stewart (TBC) 0, Class 5
23, Kyle Adam/Fiona Moir (Ford Escort Mk2) 1600, Class 2
24, Graeme Rintoul/Jim Rintoul (Ford Fiesta) 1999, Class 3
25, Joe McKeand/David Crosbie (Subaru Impreza) 2000, Class 5
26, Michael Robertson/Murray Milne (Honda Civic) 1998, Class 3
27, Stuart Waite/Lisa Demirkoc (Peugeot 206) 1587, Class 2
29, Jamie Miller/Ian McCulloch (Citroen, C2R2 MAX) 1598, Class 2
30, Harry Chalmers/Johnnie MacKay (Subaru Impreza) 2000, Class 5
31, Martin Watterston/Kenny Anderson (Subaru Impreza) 1999, Class 5
32, George Paris/Kevin Paris (Subaru Impreza) 2000, Class 5
33, Shug Steel/Shannon Turnbull (Subaru Impreza) 2000, Class 5
34, Peter Oag/Jennifer Oag (Citroen C2 VTS) 1598, Class 2
35, Eamonn Kilmurray/Derek Cassells (Citroen C2 GT) 1587, Class 2
36, Drew Barker/Cameron Dunn (Citroen C2) 1600, Class 2
37, Craig Cameron/Ewan Lees (Peugeot 205) S1400, 1389, Class1
38, James Rae/Louis Ford (Peugeot 205GTi) 1900, Class 3
39, Martin Farquhar/Aiden Henderson (Peugeot 106) 1360, Class1
40, James Strachan/Leanne Strachen (Peugeot 106) 2, Class1
41, Allan Watt/Michael ‘Nicky Grist’ Moates (Citroën Saxo) 1600, Class 2
42, Kayleigh Strachan/Steven Crockett (Citroen Saxo) 1587, Class 2
43, Graham Bruce/David Aitken Jnr (Ford Escort) 0, Class 3
44, Colin Blake/Pauline Blake (MINI ONE) 1598, Class 2
45, Linzi Henderson/Jane Nicol (Rover 220) 0, 3
46, Terry Mallin/Rachel Matheson (Ford Fiesta) 1999, Class 3
47, Malcolm MacDougall/Kyle Livingstone (??)