05 Dec: Knockhill Stages – preview

… Knockhill Stages Rally, Sun 9th Dec …

Knockhill Circuit in Fife plays host to the third round of the Motor Sports News Circuit Rally Championship this coming Sunday. After two rounds down south, this weekend’s The Cobble Shop Knockhill Stages Rally has attracted a topper of an entry.

Looking at the top ten anyone could win, whilst there’s a few more in the next ten who might just fancy their chances. Leading the pack is current MSN series leader Chris West in his Peugeot 306 Maxi. He won here last year from Nigel Feeney in the MINI WRC and Taylor Gibb in the Lancer, so we can expect more of the same fireworks this time.

However, Alan Kirkaldy will debut his Fiesta R5 and that could upset the predictions while Reay MacKay could also spring a surprise. He was in the hunt for a win first time out at Leuchars in his new Fiesta but a puncture scuppered his hopes. And here’s a tip for an outside bet, a certain Ross Hunter may be ‘seeded’ at number 62 (no doubt a late entry – as usual!) and if the car stays in one piece, then let the good times roll.

The first car will get things underway at 09:00 Hrs on Sunday morning at the start of 10 stages totalling 40 miles, with the final two tests likely to be held in the dark, so bring a torch .

Spectator details and ticket prices here:
Entry List
1, Chris West/Keith Hounslow (Peugeot 306 Maxi Kit Car) 2500cc
2, Alan Kirkaldy/Cameron Fair (Ford Fiesta R5) 1600
3, John Stone/Jack Morton (Ford Fiesta S2500) 2499
4, John Marshall/Scott Crawford (TBA) 0
5, Andrew Kirkaldy/Peter Carstairs (Ford Escort Mk2) 2500
6, Nigel Feeney/TBA (Mini Countryman JCW WRC) 1600
7, James Gibb/Charley Sayer-Payne (TBA/TBA) 0
8, Tom Blackwood/Gordon Winning (Ford Escort Mk2) 2499
9, Donnie MacDonald/Sam Smith (Mitsubishi Evo 9) 1990
10, Taylor J Gibb/Jane Nicol (TBA) 0
11, Brian Watson/Sean Donnelly (Subaru Impreza S11 WRC) 1998
12, Mike Taylor/Martin Haggett (Talbot Lotus Sunbeam) 2498
14, Barry Morris/Declan Campbell (Ford Escort Mk2) 2100
15, Ciro Carannante/Simon Coates (Porsche Cayman) 2900
16, Reay Mackay/TBA (Ford Fiesta R5+) 2000
17, Seamus Morris/TBA (Darrian T90 GTR) 2500
18, Colin Gemmell/Derek Keir (Ford Escort Mk2) 2500
19, Ross McFadzean/TBA (TBA) 0
20, Ricky Wheeler/Martin MacCabe (Ford Escort) 1998
21, Stuart Irvine/Marc Irvine (Mitsubishi Evo7) 1997
22, Richard Wells/Calvin Houldsworth (Ford Fiesta R2T) 998
23, Steven Hay/Scott Smith (Vauxhall Corsa) 1598
25, Ross Pringle/Daniel Monteiro (Vauxhall Corsa) 1600
26, Paul Sheard/Bruce Lindsey (Mazda MX5) 1600
27, Kyle Adam/Connor Adam (Ford Escort Mk2) 1600
28, Cathy Sewart/Colin Stephens (Talbot Sunbeam Lotus) 1972
29, Allan Smith/Craig MacIvor (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo) 1995
30, James Leckey/TBA (Peugeot 106) 1600
31, Scott Boyd/Fraser Jones (Ford Fiesta) 1600
32, Ashleigh Morris/Jamie MacTavish (Ford Fiesta R200) 1596
33, Jude MacDonald/Michael Cruickshank (Skoda Fabia R2+) 1600
35, Michael Robertson/Murray Milne (Honda Civic) 1998
36, Blair Thomson/Steven Brown (?) 0
37, Jim Rintoul/Ellen Stewart (Ford Fiesta) 1998
38, Ryan Connolly/Craig Scoffings (Ford Puma) 1999
39, Graham Bruce/Pete McCallum (Ford Escort) 2000
41, Mark Burton/John Burton (Ford XR2) 1600
42, Joe McKeand/TBA (Subaru Impreza) 2000
43, John Carroll/TBA (Honda Civic ep3 Type R) 1998
44, Hugh Steel/Campbell Jamieson (Subaru Impreza) 1998
45, Steve Dolman/Toby Marshall (Mazda MX5) 1999
46, Adam Williams/Rachael Atherton (Subaru Impreza) 1998
47, Innes Mochrie/Kirsty Mochrie (Rover Metro GTi) 1396
48, Craig Aston/Matt Walk (Toyota Yaris SR) 999
49, Jamie McIntyre/Damien Greenall (Ford Escort) 2500
50, David McIntyre/Matthew Osinski (Vauxhall Nova) 1598
51, Neil Philip/John Mackenzie (Subaru Impreza) 2000
52, Johnnie Mackay/TBA (Nissan Micra) 998
53, Thomas Barlow/Ian Parker (Honda Civic) 1998
54, Ron Walker/Amy McCubbin (Ford KA) 1400
55, James Strachan/Cathy Shergold (Peugeot 106) 1
56, Graeme Sherry/Shannon Turnbull (Honda Civic) 1600
57, David Robert McLeod/Eamonn Boyle (Talbot Sunbeam) 2000
58, Shona Hale/Cameron Dunn (Singing Kettle) 1600
59, Paul Gorge/Christopher Birmingham (Mazda MX5) 1800
60, Allan Watt/Kayleigh Strachan (Citroen Saxo) 1600
61, Kevin Burns/David Findlay (Peugeot 205) 1902
62, Ross Hunter/Tba (Peugeot 205) 1997
(24) Anthony Robinson/Phil Clarke (?) 0