19 Sep: Rally GB – Nat Entry List

… 2018 WRGB NATIONAL RALLY,17 September 2018 …

There’s quite a few of our lot heading south to Wales in a couple of weeks’ time for the National event within the WRC counter, Wales Rally GB. Full entry list below with ‘persons of interest’ highlighted. If I’ve missed anyone, no doubt you’ll let me know.

Ahead lies two days of competition over some of the same stages that the WRC stars will contest. No doubt some of the Scots will be able to live on fireside tales of how they went head to head against Seb Ogier and Ott Tanak for years to come!

Regardless of that, there is national honour at stake. Last year, Bruce McCombie, the 2016 National Rally winner was just pipped at the post by Tom Preston in a Fabia R5 by 23 seconds. The year before, Mike Faulkner won it repeating his 2014 success while Euan Thorburn won it 5 years ago in 2013, so we’ve got quite a record down there.

Heading this year’s entry list is last year’s winner Tom Preston but Andrew Gallacher and Jane Nicol, the new Scottish Rally Champions, are the top Scottish seeds running at Number 2 ahead of John Wink and John Forrest. Andrew finished 2nd behind Mike Faulkner on this event in 2014 and John’s best result was 5th last year, so more of the same please folks, but just a little bit better.

As for the International bit, there’s a few more Scottish crews participating including:
82 David Bogie/John Rowan (Škoda Fabia R5) RC2, GBR/IRL
86 Alex Laffey/Patrick Walsh (Ford Fiesta R5) RC2, GBR/GBR
90 Lawrence Whyte/Paul Beaton (Ford Fiesta R5) RC2, GBR/GBR
97 John Morrison/Peter Carstairs (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) Nat4, GBR/GBR
101 Finlay Retson/Tom Hynd (Ford Fiesta R2) Nat2, GBR/GBR
103 James McDiarmid/Gareth Clarke (Ford Fiesta R2) RC4, GBR/GBR

Anyway, the National gets underway on Friday morning 5th October at 10.00 am and a certain Mr Bunnet will be there (hopefully) to keep us all up to date (even more hopefully) on what’s going on.

Friday 5 October (Total Stage miles – 35.42)
10.00 Hrs – Rally Start, Deeside Service Park
10.56 Hrs – SS2, Glocaenog, 4.77 mls
11.32 Hrs – SS3, Brenig, 18.10 mls
12.47 Hrs – SS4, Penmachno, 10.53 mls
13.40 Hrs – SS5, Slate Mountain 1, 1.01 mls
13.47 Hrs – SS6, Slate Mountain 2, 1.01 mls

Saturday 6 October (Total Stage miles – 49.25)
09.00 Hrs – Rally Re-Start, Deeside Service Park
11.50 Hrs – SS10, Myherin, 12.60 mls
12.30 Hrs – SS11, Sweet Lamb Hafren, 12.39 mls
13.43 Hrs – SS12, Dyfi, 12.10 mls
14.17 Hrs – SS13, Gartheiniog, 7.00 mls
15.19 Hrs – SS14, Dyfnant, 5.16 Mls
17.31 Hrs – Rally Finish, Deeside

National Entry List
201 Thomas Preston/Carl Williamson (Škoda Fabia R5) B4, GBR/GBR
202 Andrew Gallacher/Jane Nicol (Ford Focus WRC) B4, GBR/GBR
203 John Wink/John Forrest (Hyundai R5 i20) B4, GBR/GBR

204 Roger Duckworth/Mark Broomfield (Subaru Impreza WRC S6) B4, GBR/GBR
205 Vivian Hamill/TBA (Ford Escort Mk2) B4,IRL
206 Ian Bainbridge/Daniel May (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
207 Wug Utting/Bob Stokoe (Subaru Impreza N12B) B4, GBR/GBR
208 Matthew Hirst/Declan Dear (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) B4, GBR/GBR
209 Bob Ceen/TBA (Subaru Impreza S9 WRC) B4, GBR
210 Richard Ceen/TBA (Ford Focus) B4, GBR
211 Simon Hay/Calum Jaffray (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo6) B4, GBR/GBR
212 Alan Dickson/Martin Forrest (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) B4, GBR/GBR

213 Andy Williams/Andrew Darlington (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
214 Chris Wigmore/Steve Lyons (Ford Escort Mk2) B3, GBR/GBR
215 James Gibb/Charley Sayer-Payne (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo8) B4, GBR/GBR
216 Adrian Hetherington/Ronan O’Neill (Ford Escort Mk2) B4, GBR/GBR
217 Mark Worley/Hamish Campbell (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
218 Elliot Stafford/Lewis Sim (Toyota Celica) B3, GBR/GBR
219 Alun Horn/Ian Beamond (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
220 John Saunders/Tony Hart (MG Metro 6R4) B5, GBR/GBR
221 George Lepley/Arwel Jenkins (Ford Fiesta R2) B2, GBR/GBR
222 Ellya Alec Gold/Jean Hay (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo6) B4, GBR/GBR
223 Philip Jones/Clive Jones (Ford Escort) B3, GBR/GBR
224 Richard Sykes/Simon Taylor (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) B4, GBR/GBR
225 Steve Ward/Mike Crawford (Ford Escort Mk2) H3, GBR/GBR
226 Robert Bradley/Kevin Booth (Ford Escort Mk2) B3, GBR/GBR
227 Stephen Benton/Peter Thomas (Ford Escort) B3, GBR/GBR
228 Dave Lewis/Brian Stubbs (Ford Escort Mk2) B3, GBR/GBR
229 Carl Tuer/Robin Tuer (Suzuki Swift Maxi) B3, GBR/GBR
230 Gary Smith/Paul Spooner (Ford Escort MkI) H2, GBR/GBR
231 Bob Bean/Malcolm Smithson (Ford Lotus Cortina) H1, GBR/GBR
232 Tommi Meadows/Emma Morrison (Ford Fiesta R2) B2, GBR/GBR
233 Gareth Webb/Rich Jones (Vauxhall Nova) B1, GBR/GBR
234 Dave Auden/Christophor Row (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo6) B4, GBR/GBR
235 Robert Beales/Mike Leflay (VW Beetle Ottinger GT) K1, GBR/GBR
236 Glenn Janssens/TBA (Porsche 911) B4, BEL
237 Glynne Jones/Catrin Jones (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
238 Arwel Lloyd Jones/Harold Jones (Ford Escort Mk2) H3, GBR/GBR
239 Jeremy Easson/Mike Reynolds (Datsun 240Z) H2, GBR/GBR
240 Richard Barrow/Andrew Richards (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
241 Mark Thomas/Gavin Marsh (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
242 Ron Hall/Phil Spilsted (Subaru Impreza) K2, GBR/GBR
243 Alan Mayhew/Bryan Newton (Ford Escort Mk2) B3, GBR/GBR
244 Steve Deeley/Alan Proudman (Peugeot 205 GTI) B2, GBR/GBR
245 Mark Goodwin/Louis Goodwin (Vauxhall Chevette) B3, GBR/GBR
246 Mick Quinn/Dave Jackson (Peugeot 205 GTI) B2, GBR/
247 Geoffrey Cottrill/Nathan Crewe (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9) B4, GBR/GBR
248 Gordon Alexander/Ian Clark (Vauxhall Nova) B2, GBR/GBR
249 Richard Warne/Chris Deal (Ford Escort Mk2) B3, GBR/GBR
250 Ernie Lee/Ian Shiells (BMW 325i) B4, GBR/GBR
251 Mark Ferreday/David Vardy (Volkswagen Beetle) H1, GBR/GBR
252 Thomas Lloyd/Ian Jones (Peugeot 205 GTI) B2, GBR/GBR
253 Keith Lloyd Jones/Jonny Evans (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
254 Nollag Lapain/Shane Byrne (Ford Escort Mk2) B1, IRL/IRL
255 Niall Cowan Jnr/Thomas Bruce (MG ZR) B1, GBR/GBR
256 Robert Evett/Michael Evett (MG ZR) B1, GBR/GBR
257 Christian South/Paul Hudson (Citroën DS3 R3) B4, GBR/GBR
258 Damian Pratts/TBA (Ford Escort Mk2) B4, GBR/
259 Chris Woodhouse/Alan Gilbert (Citroën C2) B2, GBR/GBR
260 Mathew Tordoff/Tim Tordoff (Ford Fiesta R2) B2, GBR/GBR
261 Alan Desbois/Peter Littlefield (Peugeot 306) B2, GBR/GBR
262 Martin Walters/Marie Fletcher (Honda Civic) B2, GBR/GBR
263 Tom Urquhart/Terry Mallin (Suzuki Ignis Sport) B2, GBR/GBR
264 Ian Newton/Ian Jones (Ford Escort Mk2) B3, GBR/GBR
265 Paul Gould/Phil Kenny (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
266 Chris Daykin/Michael Weeks (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
267 Kevin Jarvis/Robert Pomphrett (Ford Sierra Cosworth) B4, GBR/GBR
268 Matt Bradley/Ian Higginbotham (Peugeot 205 GTI) B2, GBR/GBR
269 Alwyn Passant/Denny Harris (Ford Escort Mk2) B3, GBR/GBR
270 Scott Jones/Rob Guest (Vauxhall Corsa) B1, GBR/GBR
271 Ken Davies/Alan Jones (Volvo Amazon) H1, GBR/GBR
272 Tony Cawthorne/Joseph Mallinson (Peugeot 205) B2, GBR/GBR
273 Brynmor Pierce/Dave Andrew (Vauxhall Nova) B1, GBR/GBR
274 Ian Linford/Demelza Scholes (Landrover Freelander) B3, GBR/GBR
275 Thomas Hyde/Harry Stubbs (Peugeot 205 GTI) B2, GBR/GBR
276 David White/Sarah White (Vauxhall Corsa) B1, GBR/GBR
277 Benjamin Ceen/Joe Davies (Peugeot 106) B2, GBR/GBR
278 John Leckie/Jon Madoc-Jones (Proton Status GTI) B3, GBR/GBR
279 James Curtis/Stuart Thomas (BMW 328) B4, GBR/GBR
280 Robert Morris/Bryn Perry (Subaru Impreza) B4, GBR/GBR
281 Sam Bilham/TBA (Ford Fiesta R2) B2, GBR