22 Sep: Albar Trophy Rally entry

… Albar Trophy Rally, Kames (Muirkirk), Sunday 24th September …

Calculators at the ready! The penultimate round of the 2017 Lawrence Of Kemnay Junior 1000 Ecosse Challenge takes place this Sunday at East Ayrshire CC’s Kames Motorsport centre at Muirkirk In Ayrshire. And the reason for the calculators is that competitors count only their best 6 scores from the 8 round series.

At the present time only Lewis Haining (154 points) and Amy McCubbin (141 pts) have scored double digit results on each of the six rounds so far. Andrew Blackwood (188 pts) failed to finish at Leuchars at which event he scored 1 pt so he will be keen to drop that with a good score this weekend.

Similarly Jude MacDonald (126 pts) has two non-finishes so he will be aiming to add to his score. Likewise Alice Paterson (116) and Johnnnie MacKay (116) can improve their tally this weekend, but the dark horse in all of this is Ewan Tindall (177).

With 4 wins out of 6 events so far this season Ewan is in the driving seat, but he has a low score from the Leuchars round that he’d like to drop. So he might just clinch the title depending on what his rivals get up to.

There are a few Seniors taking part too with Lindsay Taylor running in the Number 1 spot in his Fiesta ST, but right behind him are Nigel Feeney in the MINI WRC, Taylor Gibb in the Mitsubishi and Colin Gemmell in the Mk2. These three have history at Kames so expect the tyre barriers to get a bit of abuse as they tackle the day’s 16 Special Stages.

The first car will take to the stage at 09:31 Hrs on Sunday morning.

Oh, and by the way, there is a rumour that pies will grace the menu in the Kames Clubhouse, not just rolls and bacon and sausages! That should give the non-participating gourmets reason enough for attending. Just form an orderly queue behind the ‘Motorsports News’ reporter!

Senior Entry List:
1, Lindsay Taylor/David Murie (Ford Fiesta ST150, 1999cc) Class 3
2, Nigel Feeney/Emily Easton-Page (MINI Cooper S JCW WRC, 1600) Class 4
3, Taylor Gibb/Bob Irvine (Mitsubishi Evo, 1998) Class 4
4, Colin Gemmell/Derek Keir (Ford Escort Mk2, 2499) Class 4
5, Ross Cree/Jane Nicol (Ford Escort, 1999) Class 3
6, William Pollock/David Mcleod (Ford Escort, Mk1, 1998) Class 3
7, Ron Walker/Keith Fair (Ford KA, 1600) Class 2
8, Martyn Douglas/Brian Pringle (Volkswagen Polo GTI, 1400) Class 1
9, Derek Masterton/Gus Carrie (Vauxhall Corsa, 1998) Class 3
10, Marc McCubbin/Joan Blackwood (Skoda Citigo, 999) Class 0
11, Kevin Maguire/Paul Hunter (Skoda Fabia, 1400) Class 1

Junior Entry List:
901, Ewan Tindall/Paul Hudson (Citroen C1, 998) Class J1K
902, Jude MacDonald/Michael Cruickshank (Skoda Citigo, 999) Class J1K
903, Johnnie Mackay/Gordon Reid (Nissan Micra, 998) Class J1K
904, Lewis Haining/George Myatt (Toyota Aygo, 998) Class J1K
905, Andrew Blackwood/Gordon Winning (Citroen C1, 1000) Class J1K
906, Lewis Winder/Mike Baird (Nissan Micra, 998) Class J1K
907, Peter Beaton/TBA (Peugeot 107, 998) Class J1K
908, Amy McCubbin/Robin Nicolson (Nissan Micra, 999) Class J1K
909, Alice Paterson/Ian Crosbie (Peugeot 107, 998) Class J1K
910, Oliver Hunter/Tom Hynd (Peugeot 107, 1000) Class J1K
911, Fraser Anderson/Ian McRae (Nissan Micra, 1000) Class J1K

The final round of the 2017 Lawrence Of Kemnay Junior 1000 Ecosse Challenge will be the Glyn Memorial Stages Rally at Anglesey (that’s in Wales) on the 25/26th November.