31 Dec: Knockhill Stages preview

Grant Construction Rally Stages at Knockhill, Sat 4th January …

There’s a tantalising mix of cars and crews entered for this Saturday’s Grant Construction Stages Rally at Knockhill. Michael Glendinning (Subaru) won this event two years ago with Ian Paterson (Subaru) running at number two ahead of last year’s third placed and second placed finishers, Stuart Walker (Evo) and Lee Hastings (Subaru) but a late entry has been received from Chris Collie with ‘guest’ navigator, one Quintin Milne Esq.

But tucked away down the entry list at Number 15 is last year’s ‘moral winner’ Ross Hunter. Remember he was leading the rally in his 2 litre Peugeot till the engine failed, and after a heroic effort by the team, the re-engined car finished the rally – but OTL. That was cruel.

Of particular interest will be the battle of the MkIIs, with Ross and (faither) John Marshall out in their respective cars up against Hamish Kinloch and Gary Adam while Graeme Schoneville will be able to give his new Honda a decent run for the first time. Just outside the top ten are the current BLUE Scottish Tarmack Champions, Ian and Kathryn Forgan in the Ford Ka while Ken Wood has entered his V6 Dolomite just to give the spectators a real aural treat.

The first of the day’s 8 stages starts at 08.30 Hrs and the 35 miles of tests should be completed by 4 in the afternoon. Entry to the circuit is £6 for an adult, £4 for a concession and 12 quid for a family ticket.

As a tarmac rally venue, Knockhill doesn’t immediately spring to mind, but the girls and boys up there have been extending the road network over the past year so it will be interesting to see what kind of route Border Ecosse CC and the Knockhill staff have come up with for the day’s fun.

Entry List:
1, Michael Glendinning/TBA (Subaru Impreza) 5
2, Ian Paterson/TBA (Subaru N10) 5
3, Stuart Walker/Julie McGuire (Mitsubishi EVO 8) 5
4, Lee Hastings/TBA (Subaru Impreza) 5
5, James Gibb/Billy Gower (Mitsubishi EVO 9) 5
6, Gerry Gaffney/Jane Nicol (Mitsubishi Evo 3) 5
7, Stuart Paterson/Allan William Paterson (Subaru Impreza) 5
8, Ross Marshall/Dave Robson (Ford Escort) 2
9, Gary Adam/Neil Ogilvie (Ford Escort MkII) 4
10, Hamish Kinloch/James Haugh (Ford Escort MkII) 3
11, John Marshall/Scott Crawford (Ford Escort) 4
12, Tony Thompson/Paul Hudson (Subaru Impreza) 5
14, Ian Forgan/Kathryn Forgan (Ford Ka) 4
15, Ross Hunter/Gary White (Peugeot 205) 3
16, John Rintoul/Nick Rintoul (Skoda Fabia) 2
17, Gareth White/Jack Morton (Citroen C2 R2 Max) 2
18, Sean Robson/Josh Davidson (Ford Fiesta ST) 3
19, Graeme Schoneville/Michael Hendry (Honda Civic) 3
20, Iain Wilson/Keith Fremantle (Vauxhall Nova) 2
21, Des Campbell/Neil Clark (Peugeot 206) 2
22, Kev Dunn/James Braithwaite (Vauxhall Nova) 1
23, Euan MacKay/TBA (Peugeot 106) 2
24, James Thomson/Alison Woodcock (Vauxhall Nova) 1
25, Craig Callander/Chris Robertson (Subaru Impreza) 5
26, Russell Mann/Dan Forsyth (Subaru Impreza) 5
27, Ken Wood/Michael Cruickshank (Triumph Dolomite Sprint) 4
28, Dean Ross/TBC (Subaru Impreza) 5
29, Paul Ballantyne/Graham Bruce (Renault Clio Sport) 3
30, Craig Gibson/Chris Lees (Ford Escort Mk1) 3
31, Guy Halley/William Halley (Ford Escort RS 1600 BDV) 2
32, Steven Hay/Lewis MacDougall (Vauxhall Corsa) 1
33, Tommy Heard/Amanda Burney (Volvo S70 T5) 4
34, Blair Brown/Ashliegh Morris (Peugeot 205 1.6 GTI) 2
35, Darren Christie/Jodi Devine (Peugeot 306 S16) 3
36, Graeme Rintoul /Jim Rintoul (Ford Fiesta) 3
37, Dave Retson/TBA (Honda Type R) 3
38, Gregg Lithgow/Gordon Clark (Talbot Sunbeam) 3
39, Ross Carbry/Kyle Livingstone, (Vauxhall Corsa) 1
40, Peter Mosgrove/Shug McIntosh (Ford Escort Cosworth) 5
41, Fergus Gray/James McDiarmid (Peugeot 206 Gti) 3
42, Gordon Halley/Jeff Horne (Ford Escort) 3
43, Stuart Morrison/James Ralph (Talbot Sunbeam TI) 2
44, Keith Meins/Graeme Meins (Proton Satria) 3
45, Ian Archer/TBC (Ford Escort MkII) 3
46, Kevin Clarke/Steven Ogston (Vauxhall Nova) 2
47, Stewart Pitcaithly/David Findlay (Ford Escort Mk II) 2
48, Iain Miller/Gary McDonald (Peugeot 106) 1