05 August: Solway Coast Preview

usedcarparts.co.uk Solway Coast Rally …

There’s a cracking entry for Saturday’s usedcarparts.co.uk Solway Coast Rally with last year’s winner David Hardie heading the 50 car entry. Mark McCulloch runs at number 2 provided he can fix the Subaru after its Speyside hiccups – and blag enough used tyres from Mr Hardie!

Arron Newby is the number 3 seed and will arrive at Dundrennan fresh from his latest victory on the Jane Cowling Memorial Phoenix Stages Rally in Lincolnshire at the weekend. This was his 7th outright victory – and he’s still only 18.

Ian Paterson is the number four seed and he finished runner-up to David Hardie here last year so one better will be nice. Ian’s had terrible luck so far this year and that continued unabated on the Speyside when an intercooler pipe burst! Third last year was Lee Hastings and he runs at number six on Saturday ahead of Scottish Tarmac Championship hotshot, Stuart Baillie. And it will be good to see Ian Forgan back at the wheel of the wee Ka after it suffered that awfy severe clattering at Crail a couple of months back.

After rally entertainment has been promised for those wishing to stay over and enjoy, or arrive early for, the Junior Rally on the Sunday. Plans are fluid at the moment, but involve a Barbeque, and/or a Rally Forum, and/or a Race Night. So goodness know what will happen. One thing for sure, if you’ve had a bad day, this will cheer you up. Apparently a bar has also been arranged.

If you’re going down to watch, be careful. All spectators please do exactly as advised and instructed, and follow the ‘Spectator’ signs to approved and safe spectator areas. Dundrennan is still very much a ‘live’ MOD property with a tank firing range. So don’t go picking up anything shiny in the long grass, or anything dull for that matter either. In this case, the bling could go bang!

The rally will be based on the ranges, south of the A711 which runs between Kirkcudbright and Dundrennan, but if you end up bogged down to the axles and your feet are wet that means you’ve gone too far south and you’re in the Solway Firth! So ca’ canny.

The Rally will start on Saturday morning at 09:30 Hrs from Girstingwood Rally HQ, Dundrennan with the first car expected to finish around 15.30 Hrs.

The Prizegiving is scheduled to take place at around 16:30 Hrs.

Entry List:
1, David Hardie/John McCulloch (Subaru Impreza)
2, Mark McCulloch/Elliott Edmondson (Subaru Impreza)
3, Arron Newby/TBA (Subaru Impreza)
4, Ian Paterson/Jim Haugh (Subaru N10)
5, Stuart Baillie/Lachlan Cowan (Subaru Impreza)
6, Lee Hastings/Brian Findon (Subaru Impreza)
7, Richard Dickson/Roger Alcorn (Subaru Impreza)
8, Jim Sharp/Amy MacKinnon (Subaru Impreza)
9, Stuart Walker/Julie McGuire (Mitsubishi Evo8)
10, Billy McLelland/Helen Brown (Mitsubishi Evo3)
11, Steve Retchless/Iain Tullie (Ford Escort)
12, Stuart Paterson/Colin Maxwell (Subaru Impreza)
14, Ian Forgan/Kathryn Forgan (Ford Ka)
15, Richard Stewart/Kenneth Marchbank (Subaru Impreza)
16, Duncan Wardrop/Ian Crosbie (Subaru Impreza)
17, Iain Wilson/Keith Fremantle (Vauxhall Nova)
18, Scott Russell/Adam Russell (Vauxhall Corsa)
19, Stephen Thompson/Darren Thompson (Ford Escort MkII)
20, Kieran O’Kane/Matt Reid (Opel Ascona 400)
22, Craig Gibson/Chris Lees (Ford Escort MkI)
23, Drew Barker/Shona Hale (Vauxhall Corsa)
24, Ross Pringle/Steven Brown (Vauxhall Corsa)
25, Steven Hay/Lewis MacDougall (Vauxhall Corsa)
26, Scott Peacock/Keith Riddick (Peugeot 205 Gti)
27, Brian (Beefy) Fraser/TBA (Hillman Avenger)
28, Ross Carbry/Kyle Livingstone (Vauxhall Corsa)
29, Iain Miller/Gary McDonald (Peugeot 106)
30, David Benson/Steven Benson (Honda Civic)
32, Andrew Scott/Ian Robertson (Ford Escort)
33, Ross McCallum/Graeme Meins (MG Maestro)
34, Drew Struthers/Jim Johnston (Talbot Sunbeam)
35, Richard Sutherland/Alistair Anderson (Opel Manta)
36, Niall Thomson/Robin Nicolson (Citroen Saxo)
37, Neil Wallace/John Wallace (Chrysler Sunbeam)
38, Alan McMorran/Jack Houston (Peugeot 205 Gti)
39, Roy Smith/TBA (BMW)
40, Murray Coulthard/David Crosbie (Vauxhall Nova)
41, Angus Lawrie/William Paul (Vauxhall Nova)
42, James Allan/TBA (Mitsubishi Evo6)
43, Darren Martin/Martin Steele (Subaru Impreza)
44, William Pollock/Mark Roberts (Ford Escort MkI)
45, Linzi Henderson/Cameron Fair (Peugeot 107)
46, Mark Goodfellow/Peter Johnson (Ford Ka)
47, Iain Stewart/TBA (Austin Mini)
48, Tommy Heard/Amanda Burney (Volvo S-70)
49, Alistair Haw/Russell Smith (Peugeot 309 Gti)
50, Alan Wallace/Darren Robertson (TBA)
51, David Wallbank/TBA (Ford Escort MkII)
52, Dave Cranston/Steve Carnston (Opel)
53, Colin Wallace/Craig Wallace (Saab 96 V4)