08 May: Gravel Sprint info

Stravaigers Lodge Fort Augustus Gravel Sprint, Saturday May 11 ….

Highland Car Club have got an excellent entry for this weekend’s Gravel Sprint at Fort Augustus, with quantity, quality – and a dash of lunacy, as some of the Stonehaven/Aberdeen asylum residents are getting out of their padded cells for the weekend. Full entry list below.

Spectators are welcome – as long as they follow the rules! From the A82 follow the unclassified road to the Inchnacardoch Forest entrance and then follow the spectator signs to the spectator car park. Dinnae go trying to find other ways in just to save your legs. The stage is not far from the car park so there is no point in looking for shortcuts. Besides, it’s high Summer, enjoy the fresh air, the scent of pine and using your legs for what they were designed for.

Entry to the forest is from the north side of Fort Augustus. If coming from the south, you are looking for a left turn off the A82 just through the town at Inchnacardoch Hotel. If coming from the north, you’ll have to turn right off the main road just as it turns sharp left into Fort Augustus – so ca’ canny here and be careful!

Then follow the forest road, turn right along the signposted route to the Spectator Car Park, get the velocipede parked up in a sensible manner, fit the sturdy bootees and then it’s little more than a hundred yards to the stage. Easy peasy.

Each competitor is allowed six runs during the day and the fun and frolics kick off at 9.30 am.

Entry List (with Class detail):
1 Ian Cattanach (Talbot Sunbeam) 3
2 John Mackintosh (Toyota MR2) 3
3* Eric Falconer (Peugeot 205 GTI) 3
4 Kenny Wood (Talbot Sunbeam) 3
5 Gary Blackmore (Peugeot 205 1.6 GTI) 3
6 William Lawrie (Mitsubishi Colt) 3
7 Keir Beaton (Honda Civic) 3
8 Niall Inglis (Vauxhall Nova RWD) 3
9 Stuart Morrison (Talbot Sunbeam Ti) 3
10 Colin Patterson (Peugeot 106) 3
11 David Wilson (Ford Escort) 4
12 John O’Kane (Ford Fiesta XR2i) 4
14 Hamish Grant (Ford Escort MkII) 4
15 Kenny Finlayson (Vauxhall Nova) 4
16 Craig Robb (Ford Sierra) 5
17 Quintin Milne (Mitsubishi EVO 9) 6
18* Andy Horne (Dam 400 GTI) 6
19* Steven Ronaldson (MG Metro 6R4) 6
20 Brian Watson (??) 6
21 Kevin Ronaldson (Subaru Impreza) 6
22 James Allan (Mitsubishi EVO 6) 6
23 Calum Strachan (Mitsubushi EVO 4) 6
24 Malcolm Davis (Subaru Impreza) 6
3A* Billy Falconer (J) (Peugeot 205 GTI) 3
18A Graeme McWilliam (Dam 4100 GTI) 6
19A Henry Ronaldson (MG Metro 6R4) 6

* Double Entry
(J) Junior Driver