04 Nov: Scottish Car of the Year

… Jaguar’s exciting I-PACE has been crowned 2018 Scottish Car of the Year …

The all-new electric SUV was named best in class of its Alternative Fuel Category by the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers before fighting off competition from the other category winners to take the top title.

It is the first time Jaguar has lifted the title since 2006 when the XK was crowned.

Scottish Car of the Year 2018: John Murdoch, President of the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers, presents the Car of the Year trophy to Rawdon Glover, Managing Director of Jaguar Land Rover UK.
Pictured is the award-winning Jaguar I-PACE in the grounds of Dundas Castle.

Presenting the award at a gala dinner in the Dalmahoy Hotel and Country Club Edinburgh, John Murdoch, President of the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers said: “The standard and variety of new models launched this year made judging difficult in all categories.

“However, from the moment ASMW members got behind the wheel of the I-PACE for the first time they were in no doubt that it was a special vehicle. The most exciting Jaguar since the E-Type, the electric I-PACE fully deserves its Scottish Car of the Year Crown.

“It looks great, drives superbly and offers all the refinement and luxury you would expect from a Jaguar. At the same time it is a great leap forward for the company and for electric cars in general. If this is the future Bring it On!”

Accepting the award, Rowdan Glover Managing Director of Jaguar Land Rover UK said: “We are delighted to win this award in such an important market for Jaguar Land Rover. We are very proud that the I-PACE has been acknowledged as a game-changer, yet remains recognisable as a Jaguar, with luxury and capability at the heart of its design, along with one of the most advanced zero-emissions powertrains ever fitted to a production car. The I-PACE is an electric vehicle that’s practical for everyday use and we look forward to seeing even more on the road”.

“E-PACE is an incredible package of practicality geared for everyday, family life but it’s also lots of fun to drive with its sports car looks and handling. We are delighted that Jaguar E-PACE has been awarded Best Premium SUV at the Scottish Car of the Year Awards: With F-PACE winning the same category in 2016, it’s great to see the ‘Cub’ having its deserving moment in the spotlight”.

The SCOTY awards also produced double results for Ford and Kia. Ford’s new Focus took the Family Car title 21 years after it lifted the overall title back in 1998. The company’s Ranger also took the Pick-Up title. The Kia Stinger took the Executive Car title while the talented Sportage which won the overall SCOTY title back in 2010 was voted Best Used Car on a good night for the Korean company.

Hyundai’s Kona defeated stiff competition to take the Small Car title while the Peugeot 5008 took the Family Crossover Award. Jaguar’s E-PACE was the winner of the Premium Crossover award while Vauxhall’s Insignia Country Tourer came out tops in the Four-Wheel-Drive category.

The Estate Car title was awarded to the Volvo V60 while Suzuki’s entertaining Swift Sport took the Hot Hatch title. The Sports Car title was won by the blistering BMW M5.

Finally, Mazda took the Innovation and Technology award for their continued development of the internal combustion engine resulting in a new Spark Controlled Compression Ignition (SPCCI) system which delivers more power, better economy and a cleaner burn for lower emissions.

2018 SCOTY category winners at a glance:
Small: Hyundai Kona
Family: Ford Focus
Family Crossover: Peugeot 5008
Executive: Kia Stinger
Premium Crossover: Jaguar E-PACE
Four-Wheel-Drive: Vauxhall Insignia Country Tourer
Estate: Volvo V60
Sports: BMW M5
Alternative Fuel: Jaguar I-PACE
Hot Hatch: Suzuki Swift Sport
Pick-Up: Ford Ranger
Used Car: Kia Sportage
Innovation and Technology: Mazda Spark Controlled Compression Ignition system.

The SCOTY Hall of Fame:
1998: Ford Focus
1999: Jaguar S-Type
2000: Audi A2
2001: Jaguar X-Type
2002: Mazda6
2003: Volvo XC90
2004: Peugeot 407
2005: BMW 3 Series
2006: Jaguar XK
2007: Ford Mondeo
2008: Ford Fiesta
2009: Land Rover Discovery 4
2010: Kia Sportage
2011: Range Rover Evoque
2012: Dacia Duster
2013: Volkswagen Golf
2014: Hyundai i10
2015: Vauxhall Astra
2016: Volvo V90
2017: Land Rover Discovery