06 Jul: Mach 1 Stages – Entry List

… Mach 1 Stages Rally, Sat/Sun 10/11 July …

The Marshall Construction Scottish Tarmack Championship gets underway this weekend with Dunfermline Car Club’s Mach 1 Stages Rally at Machrihanish. This is of course a single venue event with big fences and gates, so unless competing, marshalling, officiating or invited, then unfortunately ye cannae get in! That’s not because they don’t like you but purely down to the Covid19 restrictions which all events are having to follow.

Which is a great pity because the event has attracted an impressive entry and this is a spectacular venue. Oddly enough, it will be just two weeks since rally cars were last seen and heard in Argyll, but that was in Dunoon on the Cowal Peninsula whereas Campbeltown is at the foot of the Mull of Kintyre – both in Argyll and Bute region, but over a hundred miles apart if you’re driving. Argyll leads where others follow! Big county, with big ideas, eh?

This year’s event will feature 12 special stages totalling some 95 miles of competitive action over two days and not just on airport runways. Remember this was an American base, a reserve base in fact extended to accommodate emergency landings of the lunar Shuttle should it be needed, so it’s big, awfy big. That means there is quite a network of ancillary roads within the complex.

The organisers shave also made provision for the 14-17 year old Juniors to participate and they will get the chance to polish the top gears in their 1 litre machines as they run at full stretch around these tests.

The first Junior will set off on Saturday morning at 9:00 am with the Seniors getting underway at 11:00 am. There will be an earlier start on the Sunday with the first car away at 8:00 am so those wishing to attend Sunday School will miss the morning session and have to go in the evening!

The competition looks pretty fierce too with Alistair Inglis heading the entry in his Lotus Exige, although he has been out and about recently in a Fiesta R5! Gordon Morrison, John Rintoul, Lee Hastings, Barry Groundwater, Kyle Adam and Michael Harbour (amongst others) were all out on the recent Dunoon Presents Argyll Stages (with mixed success – or not!) so have a bit of mileage under their treads.

Another welcome visitor will be Derek McGarrity no doubt seeking some mileage as rallying in Eire and Northern Ireland is even more restricted over there than it is over here at the present time. Ian Paterson had a recent test at Dundrennan so should also be match fit whilst Bruce Edwards, John Marshall, Greg Inglis and Joe McQuillan add further intrigue to the mix and just outside the top ten in 11th spot is the Fiesta R5 of Tom Blackwood.

So pick a winner from that lot!

Full Results throughout the weekend will be on Raymond Mann’s ‘ScotResults’ website and a full report on proceedings will follow soon after in these hallowed on-line pages.

There may also be some social media activity from my Big Pal (and others) over the weekend so keep your eyes open and let your fingers do the walking.


1Alistair InglisColin InglisLotusExige21504
2Gordon MorrisonCalum MacPhersonFordFiesta R516005
3Derek McGarrityPaddy RobinsonFord Fiesta1600 WRC16005
4Bruce EdwardsJim SmithDarrianGTR25004
5John RintoulRoss HyndFordFiesta R516005
6John MarshallTBCFordFiesta R516005
7Ian PatersonAllan PatersonSubaruB1319955
8Greg InglisIan ParkerLotusExige20003
9Lee HastingsCole HastingsSubaruImpreza20005
10Joe McQuillanShannon TurnbullMitsubshiLancer Evo IX19975
11Tom BlackwoodGordon WinningFordFiesta R520005
12Barry GroundwaterMichael HendrySubaruImpreza WRC0519985
14Kyle AdamSteven BrownFordEscort Mk225004
16Michael HarbourIan MacDougallFordMk220003
17Ross ChalmersSteven ChalmersSubaruImpreza20005
18Kieran O’KaneBarry McGleenonOpelAscona25004
19Mark BorthwickHarrison MalinFordEscort24984
20John BradleyRyan CrozierFordEscort Mk220003
21Chris McCallumStephen ClarkFordEscort Mk225004
22Brian WatsonSean DonnellyFordEscort Mk219983
24Iain SandersonKyle DodsFordEscort Mk219983
25Jamie MillerIan McCullochCitroënC2-R2 MAX16002
26Ross AuldRichard StewartFordEscort24004
27James GibbCharley Sayer-PayneBMWE3029934
29Richard WheelerFiona MoirFordHistoric Escort RS19993
30Jim McDowallJamie McDowallFordEscort Mk221004
31Gerry FitzelleMark MasonFordEscort Mk229984
33Jonathan MacDonaldChris WarehamPeugeot306 GTi-619983
35Keith RichardsonJackie RichardsonFordEscort Cosworth19985
36Graham BruceDavid A AitkenFordEscort Mk220003
37James McDiarmidMax Haines-MessengerFordEscort Mk220003
38Cameron CraigTerry MallinPeugeot20513981
39Ian BarclaySue PlaterMitsubishiEvo620005
40John PatersonScott PatersonVauxhallCorsa15982
41Joe McKeandTbaSubaruImpreza20005
42Chris HawRussell SmithPeugeot205 GTI16002
43Gregg LithgowAlan ToddFordEscort Mk219983
44Ewan StanhopeCameron DunnVauxhallCorsa Maxi16002
45Peter MosgroveDan HurstPeugeot30619983
46Martin LockMiki LockFordFocus24004
47William NelsonCraig NelsonFordEscort Mk215982
48Alistair DalglieshDavid DalglieshMitsubishiLancer Evo919975
49Christopher SmithAmy McCubbinVauxhallCorsa14001
50Sandy FairbairnIan MurrayMitsubishiLancer19975
51John RobertsonViolet KyddFordEscort19983
52Stephen SawleyRob JohnsonFordEscort19973
53Sandy ArbuthnottIan ArbuthnottFordFocus 4wd25
54Hamish GrantStewart HurstFordEscort Mk225004
55Dave McIntyreShona HaleVauxhallNova16002
56Stevie AlexanderKyle LivingstoneCitroenSaxo16002
57Mark RuncimanMartin MaccabeBMW318Ti Compact19003
58Robbie McTaggartKeith McTaggartCitroenC215962
59George FellLois FellRenaultClio 19719983
62Geoffrey GallagherLee GallagherMitsubishiEvo 805
63Grant FlemingChloe FlemingSubaruGC822004
64Campbell McColmDonald McColmPeugeot10616002
65Norman MacphailCaroline MacphailFordEscort mk219983
67Fraser MacNicolNeil RossFordEscort Mk220494
68Thomas BoylanLouise CurrieSubaruImpreza19945
69Kevin JeffrayLinda ThomasTototaCorolla17603
70John MacleodChris BaileyTalbotSunbeam16002
72Duncan MacLeanDel GalbraithPeugeot106 GTi15982
73Aileen ForrestJohn ForrestMitsubishiEvo 919985
74Innes MochrieKirsty MochrieRoverMetro Gti13961
75Lorn MacFadyenLayla MacFadyenFordEscort21004
76Donald MacNeillCara MacNeillSubaruImpreza20005
77Philip JeffressKevin PhilpPeugeot20619983
78Bobby MacDonaldRoss CallanderFordFocus ST17019993
79Robert WoodRyan GriffithsFordFiesta15962
80James WilsonRoy MillarMGZR14001
81Kenny WattElla TysonLeylandMini12751
82Claire KilmurrayDuncan SmithSuzukiSwift GTi13161
83Robert CummingAndrew GrayVauxhallAstra19983
201Archie SwinscoeBarry YoungSkodaCitigo9991
202Tom JohnstoneIan McRaeSkodaCitigo9991
203Max SpeedAlan GilbertPeugeot1079981
204Letisha ConnEmma MorrisonSkodaCitego10001
205Owen PatersonCallum ShanksPeugeot1079981
206Erica WinningEllya GoldNissanMicra10001
207Rian WalkerStuart McBrideSkodaCitigo9991