16 May: Gravel Sprint entry list

… Gravel Sprint …

Highland Car Club’s Stravaigers Lodge Fort Augustus Gravel Sprint takes to the Inchnacardoch Forest this Saturday with the first runs starting at 9.30 am. The afternoon runs will start from 1.30 pm.

Including the double entries there are 19 drivers entered for the event including Jim Carty who is having a run out in Reay MacKay’s Subaru. Stephen Ronaldson will also use the event to get some more practice with the Metro while Sandy Arbuthnott is hoping to get his Metro there, and if there is any justice in the world of motor sporting fair play and luck, Sandy should get some miles under his wheels on Saturday.

There’s also an entry from a certain Shaun Sinclair Esq but that’s all depending on a car! Shaun said last year he wasn’t finished with rallying but with his boys squandering all his spare cash racing buggies and quads and things at weekends, he didn’t have much left for himself.

However, a note of caution. I must issue a health warning. Reay says that Stravaigers Lodge now has a drinks licence. This is a worrying turn of events. Any event with Brian Watson entered in it and licenced premises nearby is like adding a pail of water to a bag of gremlins. Add Reay and Shaun to the mix and the after rally party will be a place for temperance practitioners to avoid at all costs.

Access to the forest is off the A82 just to the north of the town of Fort Augustus. It’s a narrow wee road in so please stick to the 20 mph speed limit, and ca’ real canny once in the vicinity of the service area!

Entry List:
1 Grant MacRae (Portree) Peugeot 205Rallye, 1
2 Colin Baxter (Tain) Peugeot 205, 2
3* Colin Patterson (Drumoak) Peugeot 106, 3
4 Paddy Munro (Kyle of Lochalsh) Ford Escort, 4
5 John O’Kane (Kyle Of Lochalsh) Ford Escort, 4
6 Billy Falconer (J) (Inverness) Peugeot 205 GTI, 4
7 Angela MacDonald (Portree) Peugeot 205 GTI, 4
8* Sandy MacKenzie (Balmacara) Opel Manta, 5
9* Jim Carty (Glasgow) Subaru Impreza WRC, 6
10 Shaun Sinclair (Oban) 6
11 Kevin Ronaldson (Maryburgh) Austin Metro 6R4, 6
12 Brian Watson (Stonehaven) Mitsubishi Evo 8, 6
13 James Allan (Oban) Mitsubishi EVO 6, 6
14 Sandy Arbuthnott (Elgin) MG Metro 6R4, 6
15 Ian Gray (Maryburgh) Subaru Impreza, 6
16 Hector MacInnes (Skye) Subaru Impreza, 6
3A* Gary Clark (Alness) Peugeot 106, 3
8A* Martin Fraser (Kyle) Opel Manta, 5
9A* Reay MacKay (Fort Augustus) Subaru Impreza WRC, 6